Test of overall fitness: Asian Obstacle Race Championships set for January 27

January 12, 2018

by: JC Ansis


The Philippines will play host to the first ever Asian Obstacle Race Championship on January 27.

The regional meet, organized by the Pilipinas Obstacle Sports Federation (POSF) and officially sanctioned by the International Obstacle Sports Federation, will take place at Aseana City, along J.W. Diokno Blvd. between Aseana and Bradco Avenues in Paranaque City.

Obstacle course racers will compete in three categories — Elite/Pro and Age-Groups/Open; and Pairs — with a total of $4,500 in prizes at stake. The same set of obstacles — varying from levels of easy, moderate and difficult — will be used for all three categories.

Obstacle course racing is a sport where competitors travel on foot and overcome various physical challenges in the form of obstacles, such as climbing ropes and over walls, carrying heavy objects, traversing bodies of water, crawling under barbed wire and jumping through fire, among others.

According to the POSF, the Asian Obstacle Race Championship aims to test one’s endurance, strength, speed, dexterity and overall fitness.

Aside from the winners of each category, special awards will also be given: Largest Contingent, for the country (aside from the Philippines) that fields the most number of participants; Asian Champion Team, and the Men’s and Women’s Asian Champion Team.

The organizers expect more than a thousand people to compete in the event.

Participants will hail from different countries of Asia: Afghanistan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, People’s Republic of China, Hong Kong (China), India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Republic of Korea, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Kuwait, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Lebanon, Macau, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Oman, Pakistan, Palestine, Philippines, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Syrian Arab Republic, Chinese Taipei, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Vietnam and Yemen.

Show Comments
comments powered by Disqus